Milk Cake

Milk cake is a traditional Indian Sweet. I am so thankful to my sis Mita who gave me this easy peasy recipe which is always a show stopper and hit when I make it. No baking is required while making this dessert as its just a block of sweetened, thickened, granular milk carved into squares – simply satisfying! This recipe is a secret recipe of my sweet sister Mita 🙂 I think its their family secret 🙂 Holi is around the corner and if you can make something so easy and delicious ,why not to give it a try 😉

img_4896 img_4911

Ingredients

  • 3 cup/bowl/katori of milk (size of the bowl depends on the quantity you want to make,for testing you can use a small bowl for all ingredients  )
  • 1 cup/bowl/katori Sugar
  • 1 cup/bowl/katori Milk Powder
  • 1 cup/bowl/katori Curd (yoghurt)
  • 1/2 cup/bowl/katori Ghee (clarified butter)
  • Few chopped almond for decoration

Method

  1. Boil milk in a heavy bottom pan in medium high heat.
  2. As milk starts boiling ,add Sugar,Milk Powder while stirring milk .
  3. Now add ghee and stir well.
  4. At last add curd ,which will help in Curdling of milk.
  5. Now cook till all the water evaporates and you will be left with the cake mixture ,make sure to keep stirring the mixture so that it should not get burnt.( medium heat)
  6. Remove the mixture in a casserole or any vessel and keep it for few hours . ( this helps in getting that beautiful brown color at the bottom)
  7. Cut into pieces & decorate with almond pieces. Enjoy Ting !!!!

img_4915 img_4917

12 thoughts on “Milk Cake

  1. Hi..I tried your recipe but my cake became very hard. One thing I could see was that ghee was over because it was floating; probably I didn’t measure cup and bowl properly.
    One thing I wanted to know was it is sticking in the mouth, what could be the reason for that?
    Also, what should be the color when you turn off the gas? Mine became little more brown and it is now giving a burnt taste but it never stuck to the pan.
    Please help. Thanks.

    Versha

    Like

    1. Hi Versa,

      I am sry for the late reply. Many ppl tried the recipe and they were able to make it nicely.please try again taking less quantity and use a non stick pan . No one complained abt sticky cake. May be u are doing something wrong . Use a small bowl for measurement and let me knw the result.

      Like

      1. Thanks Chahat. I took a small cup only and went with 3:1 ratio. One more thing do I have to keep stirring all the time, that’s what I did. Milk was also 2% fat. I will try again and let you know.
        I know almost everyone succeeded in this recipe.. hence trying to figure out what I did wrong 😦

        Thanks
        Versha

        Like

      2. Once the milk start curdling its good to stir once in a while till all the water evaporates , after the mixture is little thick keep stirring it so that it shld nt get burnt.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

        Like

  2. Hi Chahat – What milk powder do you use? In US where do I get the milk powder? Any grocery store in particular? Do let me know as I definitely want to try this recipe

    Like

  3. Thanks a lot Yo Yo Chahat Kaur…tried ur milkcake recipe yesterday. It turned out awesome!! My hubby loved it.. he said it tastes just like the one from some sweets shop. Made my day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

